ABOUT US

 

Osteen Publishing Company and The Sumter Item were founded by Hubert Graham Osteen on October 15, 1894, in Sumter, S.C.

Today, six generations of the Osteen family have been involved in community newspapering for 159 years, one of the longest continuous family involvements in the United States.

In 2011, the Osteens purchased Clay Today and the Ponte Vedra Recorder, outstanding weekly newspapers serving the Jacksonville, Fla., area.

In 2012, the company purchased the weekly Las Cruces (New Mexico) Bulletin and its associated publications.

In 2014, the company purchased Gulf Coast Newspapers LLC in Baldwin County, Alabama. Gulf Coast Newspapers serve the communities across Baldwin County, and include tourism related publications, a website dedicated to the Alabama Gulf Coast and a strong Facebook and Twitter presence. The newspapers are published under four different names: The Baldwin Times, The (Fairhope) Courier, The Foley Onlooker and The (Gulf Shores) Islander.

 

--------------------

 

SUMTER, SOUTH CAROLINA

 

Publications

The Sumter Item

Life is Good in Sumter (annual community guide)

Lakeside

A variety of special sections

www.theitem.com

 

Contacts

 

Vince Johnson

Editor and Publisher

vince@theitem.com

803-774-1201

36 West Liberty St.

Sumter, S.C. 29150

 

---------------------

 

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA

 

Publications




Clay Today

Ponte Vedra Recorder

First Coast Register

Oakleaf

A variety of special sections

www.claytodayonline.com

www.pontevedrarecorder.com

 

Contacts

 

Clay County

Jon Cantrell, Publisher

jon@opcfla.com

904-264-3200

3513 U.S. Hwy. 17

Fleming Island, Florida 32003

 

Ponte Vedra

Susan Griffin, Publisher

susan@opcfla.com

904-686-3938

1102 A1A North, Unit 108

Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida 32082

 

Northern Florida Publication Distribution Services

Rob Conwell

rob@opcfla.com

984-686-3936

1102 A1A North, Unit 108

Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082

 

------------------------------------------

 

LAS CRUCES, NEW MEXICO

 

Publications

The Las Cruces Bulletin

New Mexico Annual Legislative Guide

Life is Good in Las Cruces (annual community guide)

A variety of special sections

www.lascrucesbulletin.com

 

Contact

 

Richard Coltharp, Publisher

richard@lascrucesbulletin.com

575-524-8061

840 N. Telshor Blvd. Suite E

Las Cruces, NM 88011

 

––––––––––––––––––––––

 

BALDWIN COUNTY, ALABAMA

 

Publications

The Baldwin Times

The (Fairhope) Courier

The Foley Onlooker

The (Gulf Shores) Islander

Alabama Gulf Coast Visitor Guide

A variety of special sections

www.gulfcoastnewstoday.com

 

Contact

Parks Rogers

Publisher
Gulf Coast Media
901 N. McKenzie Street
Foley, AL 36535
251-259-5646
parks@gulfcoastmedia.com

--------------------------

 

Osteen Publishing Company

Board of Directors

 

Hubert D. Osteen

Chairman

hubert@theitem.com

803-774-1298

 

Graham Osteen

graham@theitem.com

843-307-0196

 

Kyle Osteen

kyle@theitem.com

803-774-1254

 

Jack Osteen

jack@theitem.com

803-774-1238