Absentee voting open for special Sumter County Council primary


In-person absentee voting is now open for the Democratic primary for Sumter County Council's District 3 seat.

This special primary between William "Billy" Aycock Jr. and Jason Johnson is being held on Sept. 29 after the original candidate, Ronnie Eldridge, passed away on Aug. 27.

To vote before Sept. 29, go to the old Sumter County courthouse, 141 N. Main St., Room 114, Monday through Friday between 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m. to cast your ballot. You must live in the county's District 3 to vote. To check your district, go to http://www.sumtercountysc.org/our_council/council_information/index.php.

The following precincts are in Sumter County Council's District 3 and are therefore eligible to vote special primary:

  • Furman;
  • McCrays Mill 2;
  • Pinewood;
  • Pocotaligo 1;
  • Pocotaligo 2;
  • Privateer; and
  • Sunset.

To check your voter registration status, go to www.scvotes.org.

Polls will be open on Sept. 29 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The winner of this primary will face incumbent Councilman Jimmy Byrd in the general election on Nov. 3.

For complete election coverage, go to www.theitem.com/election2020.