Alabama QB Young, LB Anderson named AP SEC players of year


Alabama once again collected a Southeastern Conference title and two big league-wide individual awards.

Quarterback Bryce Young is the SEC's offensive player of the year and linebacker Will Anderson Jr. is the top defensive player, as voted on by a panel of sports writers and broadcasters covering the league. The voting was released on Wednesday.

Georgia's Kirby Smart was the pick as coach of the year after leading the Bulldogs to a 12-0 regular season and into the College Football Playoffs. Bulldogs freshman tight end Brock Bowers is the selection as top newcomer after leading the team in receiving.

Missouri tailback Tyler Badie, Anderson and Alabama wide receiver Jameson Williams were the only unanimous picks. Anderson, the Bronco Nagurski winner as the nation's top defensive player, was named on some ballots as a defensive lineman/edge rusher.

He's leading the nation in sacks and tackles for loss. Young is the Heisman Trophy favorite after leading a 41-24 victory over Smart's Bulldogs in the SEC Championship Game.

It was the second straight year Alabama had the offensive and defensive players of the year, with Heisman-winning wide receiver DeVonta Smith and cornerback Patrick Surtain taking the awards in 2020.




QB - Bryce Young, Alabama

RB - u-Tyler Badie, Missouri

RB - Chris Rodriguez, Kentucky

OL - Darian Kinnard, Kentucky

OL - Charles Cross, Mississippi St.

OL - Kenyon Green, Texas A&M

OL - Evan Neal, Alabama

C - Michael Maietti, Missouri

TE - Brock Bowers, Georgia

WR - Jameson Williams, Alabama

WR - Treylon Burks, Arkansas

K - Harrison Mevis, Missouri

AP - Velus Jones, Tennessee


DE - Sam Williams, Mississippi

DE - Josh Paschal, Kentucky

DT - DeMarvin Leal, Texas A&M

DT - Jordan Davis, Georgia

LB - Will Anderson, Alabama

LB - Nakobe Dean, Georgia

LB - Damone Clark, LSU

DB - Roger McCreary, Auburn

DB - Lewis Cine, Georgia

DB - Jaylan Foster, South Carolina

DB - Jordan Battle, Alabama

P - Nik Constantinou, Texas A&M

SEC Offensive Player of the Year - Bryce Young, QB, Alabama

SEC Defensive Player of the Year - Will Anderson, LB, Alabama

SEC Coach of the Year - Kirby Smart, Georgia

SEC Newcomer of the Year - Brock Browers, TE, Georgia



QB - Matt Corral, Mississippi

RB - Isaiah Spiller, Texas A&M

RB - Brian Robinson, Alabama

OL - Jamaree Salyer, Georgia

OL - Layden Robinson, Texas A&M

OL - Justin Shaffer, Georgia

OL -Cade Mays, Tennessee

C - Ricky Stromberg, Arkansas

TE - Jalen Wydermyer, Texas A&M

WR - Wan'Dale Robinson, Kentucky

WR - John Metchie III, Alabama

PK - Cade York, LSU


DE - Derick Hall, Auburn, 6-3, 251

DE - Tyree Johnson, Texas A&M

DT - Devonte Wyatt, Georgia

DT - Neal Farrell Jr., LSU

LB - Channing Tindall, Georgia

LB - Zakoby McClain, Auburn

LB - Bumper Pool, Arkansas

DB - Derion Kendrick, Georgia

DB - Cam Smith, South Carolina

DB - AJ Finley, Mississippi

DB_Antonio Johnson, Texas A&M

P- Jake Camarda, Georgia

AP - Jameson Williams, Alabama