Campus corner for April 17, 2021: Students in Sumter, Clarendon and Lee counties



SPARTANBURG - Dr. Michael J. Sosulski, provost of Wofford College, has announced Dean's List students for the Fall 2020 semester.

- Sumter - Ross Christian Campbell; Riley Katherine DeLavan; Cameron Russell Dixon; Jana Marie Faircloth; Edmund Walker Jones; Ann Ragin Lee; Haley Roone McCaffrey; Marley Rebecca McCormick; James Patrick Muldrow; Andrew James Reynolds; and

- Manning - Rachael Lauren Cawood South.

To be named to the Dean's List, a student must be enrolled for at least 12 semester hours of graded courses and attain a semester grade point average of 3.6 or higher.


BATON ROUGE, Louisiana - Hannah Gamble of Sumter was recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society. Gamble was initiated at Methodist University.

Gamble is among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 under the leadership of undergraduate student Marcus L. Urann who had a desire to create a different kind of honor society: one that recognized excellence in all academic disciplines. Today, the Society has chapters on more than 325 campuses in the United States and the Philippines. Its mission is "To recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others."