Campus Corner: Sunday, Aug. 5, 2018



TUSCALOOSA, Alabama - The following Sumter students were awarded degrees during spring 2018 commencement at the University of Alabama May 4-6: Allison Estep, Bachelor of Science, and Shania Sankey, Bachelor of Social Work.


HUNTSVILLE, Alabama - Zackary Fishburne of Sumter recently attended Space Camp at the U.S. Space and Rocket Center, home of Space Camp, Space Camp Robotics, Aviation Challenge and NASA Marshall Space Flight Center's Official Visitor Center.

The weeklong educational program promotes science, technology, engineering and math, while training students and with hands-on activities and missions based on teamwork, leadership and problem solving.

This program is specifically designed for trainees who have a particular interest in space exploration. Fishburne spent the week training with a team that flew a simulated space mission to the International Space Station. Once aboard the ISS, the crew participated in experiments and successfully completed an extra-vehicular activity, or spacewalk. Fishburne and crew returned to Earth in time to graduate with honors.

Space Camp operates year-round in Huntsville and uses astronaut training techniques to engage trainees in real-world applications of STEM subjects. Students sleep in quarters designed to resemble the ISS and train in simulators like those used by NASA.


GREENVILLE, North Carolina - The following Sumter students received degrees during May 4 commencement at East Carolina University in Dowdy-Ficklen Stadium: Noelle Dave, Bachelor of Fine Arts in Dance Performance, and Brianna Witherspoon, Bachelor of Science in Public Health Studies.


SALT LAKE CITY, Utah - The following local residents received a degree from Western Governors University:

- Shaw AFB - Randy Reiterman, Master of Science in Cybersecurity and Information Assurance; Shelby Salinas, Bachelor of Science in Nursing; Stephani Pena Gracia, Bachelor of Science in Nursing; and

- Sumter - Tracie Snider, Bachelor of Science in Nursing; Kristen Caples, Bachelor of Science in Nursing; and Anamaria Sandor, Master of Science in Educational Leadership degree.


CONWAY - Twenty Coastal Carolina University students including Taylor Dinkins, an art studio major from Sumter, spent nearly a month on a study abroad program in Nicosia, Cyprus and Athens, Greece, to study culture, history and security in the Eastern Mediterranean.

Students in the intensive program explored security issues through direct immersion in the history and contemporary geopolitics of one of the world's most significant regions. From May 6 to June 4, students studied in Greece and Cyprus, which feature a developed tourist industry that dates back to the 17th century. From there they examined the complex security framework of the wider region that includes Syria, Lebanon, Israel/Palestine, Egypt, Libya and the Balkans.

In addition to taking two 300-level courses totaling six credits, students attended lectures by internationally renowned security experts, policy-makers and diplomats. They also visited some of the landmark sites of Western civilization, including the Parthenon and Acropolis, and interacted with communities on both sides of the Greek-Turkish divide on the island of Cyprus.


LOWELL, Massachusetts - Ryan Arnette of Sumter is among the largest graduating class in UMass Lowell's history. Arnette received a Bachelor of Science in Information Technology.


SPARTANBURG - Dr. Michael J. Sosulski, provost of Wofford College, has announced Dean's List students for the spring 2018 semester. Sumter students named to the list: Anna Christian Lyles, Drake Harrison McCormick, Edward Brode McMillan and Margaret Wells Osteen.

To be named to the Dean's List, a student must be enrolled for at least 12 semester hours of graded courses and attain a semester grade-point average of 3.6 or higher.


SPARTANBURG - Letitia Smith of Sumter has been named to Sherman College of Chiropractic's President's List for the spring 2018 academic quarter. President's List students have achieved a grade-point average of 4.0 for the quarter.


AIKEN - The University of South Carolina Aiken was well represented on the 2017-18 PBC Presidential Honor Roll, which was released late June. The Presidential Honor Roll honors all student-athletes at the 12 PBC member institutions who had a GPA of 3.0 or higher for the academic year.

The honor roll has been divided into four groups: Presidential Scholars, Bronze Scholars, Silver Scholars and Gold Scholars. All student-athletes with a GPA from 3.0 to 3.24 are Presidential Scholars while Bronze Scholars are 3.25 to 3.49; Silver 3.50 to 3.74; and Gold Scholars are those with a 3.75 to 4.00.

Ryan Missildine from Sumter, whose major is Sociology, made the Silver Scholars list.

William Ard from Lynchburg, whose major is Business Administration, made the Presidential Scholars list.


CHARLESTON - The Citadel was represented by 163 cadet-athletes on the 2017-18 Southern Conference Academic Honor Roll. Area cadet-athletes named to the list are:

- Sumter - William Kinney of Sumter (baseball) and Lauren Pringle (rifle);

- Shaw - Devin Singleton (men's track and field);

- Manning - Charles Walker (men's track and field); and

- Bishopville - Tierra Price (rifle).

The Southern Conference Academic Honor Roll consists of student-athletes at member institutions who achieve at least a 3.0 grade-point average for the academic year while being a member of the final squad list during their sport's traditional season. Recipients must have been eligible to compete throughout the entire academic year.


SPARTANBURG - To be eligible for the Dean's List at USC Upstate, freshmen students must earn a 3.25 or higher and be enrolled in at least 12 course hours and upperclassmen must earn a 3.5 or higher and be enrolled in at least 12 course hours. The following local students were named to the list:

- Sumter - Kelly Barfield, Martha Barnes, Noah Bittinger, Erin Bradford, Charity Harvin, Tatyana Hodge, Donte Johnson, Melena McCoy, Wilson McDaniel, Rachel Oakley, Briana Pierson, Chelsea Roland, Amori Taylor, NeTaysia Zeigler, Jared Dukes, Allison Harrison, Bethany Jones, Alyssa Lennard, Katlyn Loschke, Melinda Menser, Augusta Payeur, Shelby Reynolds, Teressa Russell and Hope Tindale;

- Pinewood - Da'Masha Ragin;

- New Zion - Hannah Yarborough; and

- Manning - Shelley Richburg.