DE Ferrell only first teamer among 6 Tiger All-Americans


Clemson defensive end Clelin Ferrell was a first team selection among a national best and school record six Tigers named to one of the three Associated Press All-America teams announced on Monday.

The list included three of Clemson's four defensive linemen and four defenders overall.

Offensive tackle Mitch Hyatt, defensive tackle Christian Wilkins and linebacker Dorian O'Daniel were second-team selections for No. 1 Clemson. Offensive guard Tyrone Crowder and defensive end Austin Bryant were third team selections.

The previous best for AP All-Americans in a season by the Clemson program was five off of last year's national championship team. It marks the first time Clemson has had three defensive lineman named All-American in the same season.

Wilkins is the only returning All-American from last year's team. He was third team last year.

No. 2 Oklahoma will bring three first team All-Americans to the College Football Playoff.

Quarterback Baker Mayfield, offensive tackle Orlando Brown and tight end Mark Andrews of Oklahoma were selected, giving the Sooners more players on the first team than any school.

Four of the top five vote-getters for the Heisman Trophy made the first team, including the runaway winner Mayfield. Stanford's Bryce Love, the Heisman runner-up, and San Diego State's Rashaad Penny, the nation's leading rusher and fifth-place finisher for the Heisman, were the first-team running backs. Penn State's Saquon Barkley, who finished fourth in the Heisman voting, made the team as an all-purpose player.

Louisville's Lamar Jackson, last year's Heisman winner and All-America quarterback, was selected to the second team.


- The other three playoff teams each have one player on the first team, all on the defensive side. No. 3 Georgia, which faces Oklahoma in the Rose Bowl semifinal on Jan. 1, is represented by linebacker Roquan Smith. No. 1 Clemson placed defensive end Clelin Ferrell on the first team. Alabama safety Minkah Fitzpatrick is the only player to make first-team All-America for the second straight season. The Tigers face the fourth-ranked Crimson Tide in the Sugar Bowl semifinal on Jan. 1.

- Notre Dame (offensive linemen Mike McGlinchey and Quenton Nelson), Ohio State (center Billy Price and cornerback Denzel Ward), Iowa (linebacker Josey Jewell and cornerback Josh Jackson) and Texas (safety DeShon Elliott and punter Michael Dickson) each have two players on the first team.

- Wisconsin placed five players on the three teams, led by linebacker T.J. Edwards on the first team. Running back Jonathan Taylor and tight Troy Fumagalli made the second team and offensive linemen David Edwards and Beau Benzschawel made the third team.

- Oklahoma had four picks overall with linebacker Ogbonnia Okoronkwo making the second team.


- Four of the five All-America offensive linemen made either second- or third-team last year. Brown and Price moved up from second to first. McGlinchey and Nelson went from third to first.

- Mayfield also jumped from third team to first team. He was selected to the second team in 2015.

- Dickson and Barkley also made the third team last year and moved up to first this season, though Barkley was a third-team running back last year.


- Jackson was not the only 2016 All-American to slide this season. Washington State guard Cody O'Connell went from first team to second team. Utah punter Mitch Wishnowsky went from first to third.


First-team All-Americans by conference:

Big Ten - 7

Big 12 - 6

Pac-12 - 3

SEC - 3

ACC - 2

Independent - 2

American - 1

Mountain West - 1


All-Americans, all three teams, by conference:

SEC - 15

ACC - 14

Big Ten - 13

Big 12 - 12

Pac-12 - 11

Mountain West - 3

American - 2

C-USA - 2

Independent - 2

MAC - 1