Keep Reading. Subscribe Today.

Stay connected with our community and support nationally-acclaimed local news coverage. Sign up for a subscription today. Cancel anytime.

  • Already a subscriber?

Newcomer Brew wins Mod-4 Mid-Summer Showdown

Sports Contributor
Posted 7/14/20

Sumter Speedway hosted its first Mod-4 Mid-Summer Showdown on Saturday with 16 drivers on hand competing for the $1,100 winner's purse. Pete Brew made the best of his first trip to the 3/8-mile dirt track, picking up the Mod-4 win.

Three-time …

This item is available in full to subscribers

Newcomer Brew wins Mod-4 Mid-Summer Showdown


Sumter Speedway hosted its first Mod-4 Mid-Summer Showdown on Saturday with 16 drivers on hand competing for the $1,100 winner's purse. Pete Brew made the best of his first trip to the 3/8-mile dirt track, picking up the Mod-4 win.

Three-time winner Terry Caples posted the fastest qualifying time but drew the No. 4 in the top six redraw. Austin Mintz pulled No. 1 and started the feature from the pole.

As the green flag flew to start the 30-lap feature, the action was intense as Mintz, Travis Sharpe, Banjo Duke and Caples battled 4-wide for the lead. Caples lost control, spinning in the exit of Turn 4. Miles Mintz was collected in the accident, ending his night early.

As racing resumed, Sharpe took over the lead with Austin Mintz and Duke on his heels. Duke worked his way around Mintz and quickly powered his way around Sharpe to take over the lead. Duke continued to show the way as Brew worked his way into the second-place spot. Brew made a move to the inside of Duke on Lap 11 and took over the lead in the exit of Turn 4. Brew opened up a comfortable lead over the rest of the field and led the remainder of the way, collecting the nice payday.

Austin Mintz came home second and Philip Wilson came home third and picked up the South East Lawn Care Hard Charger award. Greg Brew was fourth with Bubba Kolb fifth, Bubba Miller sixth, Duke seventh. DJ Carraway eighth with Cody Keith ninth, Dakota Wilson 10th, Caples 11th, Allen Ridgeway 12th, David Screen 13th, Eric Hill 14th, Sharpe 15th and Miles Mintz 16th.

Walter Anderson was the winner of an action-packed Stock V8 feature due to a disqualification. Dalton Hodge was initially the winner, but refused to go through post-race inspection. Anderson, who was initially scored second, passed post-race inspection and was declared the winner.

Willie Hill was next to cross the start/finish line. However, he failed post-race inspection and was disqualified. This moved Terrel Holloway up to second with Greg Anderson third, Frank Aldridge fourth, Daniel Boykin fifth, Justin Amerson sixth and Marty Horne seventh.

Justin Mintz led flag to flag on his way to another dominating Late Model feature victory. Tony Terry was second with Gene Kinard third and Kale Green fourth. David Pack Jr. was fifth, Kevin Turner sixth and Elliott Sanders seventh.

Daulton Dabbs picked up his first win in a Super Street thriller, leading only one lap, but the one that counted the most.

Terrell Holloway seemed to have the race under control, but on his way to the checkered flag Holloway ran into lap traffic. Trey Anderson spun around in the exit of Turn 4 as Holloway was looking to put him a lap down, but Holloway had nowhere to go and spun around as well. Dabbs dashed to the outside of the wreck, passed Holloway and took home the win.

Ricky Hair came home second with Mickey Barnes third and Ryan Winn fourth. Austin Rodonis was fifth, Timmy Barnes sixth, Holloway seventh and Stevie Jones eighth.

Joseph Thompson picked up his third straight win in the Extreme-4 division. Thompson took the lead on Lap 2 and stayed out front the rest of the way. Alex Myers came home with a hard-fought second-place finish with Ben Hinson third and Dylan Hill fourth. John Harper Livingston was fifth, John Ledwell sixth and David Burch seventh.

The always exciting Street Stock division capped of the night with 17 drivers on hand. Cameron Holloway was the first driver to cross the finish line in the caution-filled event, but he failed post-race inspection and Jason Potts was named the winner.

Tanner Rodonis came home second with James Murphy third, Kevin Roark fourth, Robbie Disher fifth, Mikey Coursey sixth, Adam Hill seventh, Clay Conyers eighth, Pat Davis ninth, Banjo Duke 10th, Michael Stuart 11th. William Disher 12th, Bryan Stephen 13th, Matt Spigner 14th, Dalton Coursey 15th and LJ Sohnemann 16th.

Racing action will continue on Saturday with racing in all divisions. The SHARP Mini Late Model division will also be on hand.

Gates open at 4 p.m. and hot laps get started at 6 p.m. Grandstand tickets will be $15 for adults and pit passes will be $25 for adults. Military members will be admitted to the grandstands free of charge.