Staggers officially named president of Morris College in Sumter



State Rep. David Weeks, D-Sumter, congratulates Dr. Leroy Staggers on April 12 on the stage of the Neal-Jones Auditorium of Morris College. Faculty, staff, students, alumni and friends of Morris College celebrated the new leadership of the college with the official Presidential Investiture of Dr. Staggers as the college's 10th president. The purpose was given by co-chairman of the Presidential Investiture Committee, Elder J. Elbert Williams, followed by the invocation by Dr. Jamey O. Graham, vice president-at-large of the Baptist Education and Missionary Convention of South Carolina Inc. State Sen. J. Thomas McElveen III, D-Sumter, spoke first followed by Sumter County Councilman James T. McCain, who announced the proclamation naming April 12, 2019, Dr. Leroy Staggers Day by Sumter County Council. His long-time friend Dr. Henry N. Tisdale, president of Claflin University, offered words of encouragement. The Presidential Charge was given by president and CEO of the United Negro College Fund, Dr. Michael Lomax. Upon receiving his robe, medallion and mace, Staggers said, "My vision for Morris College is to build onto the great achievements of Dr. Richardson. I had the blessing and good fortune to sit under Dr. Richardson as dean for 17 years." The late Dr. Luns C. Richardson served as president of Morris for 43 years. He went on to say, "I ask for God's guidance, I pray for courage, and I know I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me."