USC Sumter softball shuts out Kishwaukee 9-0


MYRTLE BEACH - Alexis Lyles and Anna Rachel Tavares combined on a 2-hit shutout in USC Sumter's 9-0 win over Kishwaukee College.

Lyles pitched the first four innings to get the win. She allowed the two hits and walked just one better. Tavares pitched the final two innings, walking three and striking out one.

Brooke Ward led the Fire Ants' 13 hit attack. She was 3-for-4 with a double and drove in four runs. Brooke Vance was 2-for-3 with a double, a triple and a run scored.

Abigale Hudson had two hits, two runs and an RBI, and Emily Holmes had two hits as well. Kristin Wemes had a double, two runs and two RBI, Shelby Nisbet had a triple, a run and an RBI, and Megan Phillips had a hit and two runs.

Three USC players honored by SEC

A trio of South Carolina men's basketball players were honored with Southeastern Conference postseason accolades from the league's coaches.

Senior guard Hassani Gravett was named the Sixth Man of the Year, senior forward Chris Silva was named First Team All-SEC and to the All-Defensive Team for the second-straight campaign, and rookie guard A.J. Lawson was named to the All-Freshman Team.

The coaches selected Tennessee forward Grant Williams as the league's player of the year for a second straight season.

He's the first person to win the honor in consecutive seasons since Arkansas' Corliss Williamson in 1994-95. Williams also is the Associated Press' SEC player of the year.

SEC coaches named Mississippi's Kermit Davis coach of the year, Kentucky's Keldon Johnson freshman of the year and LSU's Skylar Mays scholar-athlete of the year. LSU's Tremont Waters and Kentucky's Ashton Hagans are co-defensive players of the year.

Coaches' first-team all-SEC selections are Williams, Waters, Arkansas' Daniel Gafford, Kentucky's PJ Washington, Ole Miss' Breein Tyree, Mississippi State's Quinndary Weatherspoon, Silva and Tennessee's Admiral Schofield.

Second-team picks include Johnson, Mays, Auburn's Bryce Brown and Jared Harper, Georgia's Nicolas Claxton, Kentucky's Tyler Herro, Ole Miss' Terence Davis and Tennessee's Jordan Bone.

From staff and wire reports