Voting now open in Hines Furniture Athlete of the Year contest


Over the past two weeks, The Sumter Item and Hines Furniture have teamed up with area coaches to select the 24 Athletes of the Year in 24 different high school sports. It’s now time to turn our attention to the voting process to select the overall Hines Furniture Athlete of the Year.

Fans can visit to cast their votes in all eight first-round matchups. A total of 16 athletes are eligible for first-round voting while the remaining eight athletes received first round byes. Seeding for the bracket was selected at random.

To see the complete bracket and voting form, go to, and a complete list of winners can be found below.

Christian Acevedo | Boys Soccer | Crestwood High School

Cassidy Brunson | Girls Archery | Thomas Sumter Academy

Denae Brunson | Girls Golf | Sumter High School

Santana Christmas | Girls Bowling | Robert E. Lee Academy

Talaysia Cooper | Girls Basketball | East Clarendon High School

William Coulter | Boys Tennis | Wilson Hall

Bella Crowe | Girls Cross Country | Thomas Sumter Academy

Zach Davis | Boys Archery | Thomas Sumter Academy

Josh Fugate | Boys Cross Country | Thomas Sumter Academy

Jonathan Henry | Football | Sumter High School

Ja’Kheem Heyward | Boys Track and Field | Sumter High School

James Hiott | Boys Shooting | Wilson Hall

Elizabeth Hussey | Softball | Laurence Manning Academy

Miller Jones | Boys Golf | Wilson Hall

Hayden Kirkhart | Girls Swimming | Sumter High School

Margaret McMahon | Volleyball | Sumter High School

Jasiah Pack | Girls Soccer | Sumter High School

Juwan Perdue | Boys Basketball | Lakewood High School

Kayla Porter | Girls Track and Field | Wilson Hall

Steve Scholz | Boys Swimming | Wilson Hall

Seth Stamps | Boys Bowling | Laurence Manning Academy

Sarah Faye Turner | Girls Tennis | Laurence Manning Academy

Ann Weathers Blankenship | Girls Shooting | Wilson Hall

Austin Windham | Baseball | Robert E. Lee Academy