Campus Corner: Sunday, April 8, 2018



TUSCALOOSA, Alabama — Angela Williams of Sumter has been selected as an Honors College ambassador at The University of Alabama for the 2018-19 school year. Honors ambassadors represent the Honors College at recruitment and alumni events and host prospective students during campus visits. Honors College ambassadors must be actively involved in the college; demonstrate knowledge of college and campus resources and opportunities; and possess excellent public speaking abilities.


TROY, Alabama — September Craft of Sumter has been named to the Provost's List at Troy University for Term 3 of the 2017-18 academic year.

The Provost's List honors full-time undergraduate students who are registered for at least 12 semester hours and who have a grade-point average of at least 3.65.


CONWAY — Phi Eta Sigma, a prestigious national honor society for freshmen, inducted 135 Coastal Carolina University students on April 3 in the Johnson Auditorium in the E. Craig Wall Sr. College of Business Administration including Tionna Brogdon from New Zion and Gabrielle Richbow from Rembert. Membership celebrates outstanding academic performance after the completion of one full semester of college work. The society is chartered on 378 different campuses across the nation.

To be eligible, students must have held a 3.5 grade-point average or higher during their first semester of college.

Coastal Carolina University students hosted their mentees on CCU's campus on March 23 to give a real college experience to Horry County elementary and middle school students. The day was also meant to motivate those students to consider higher education in their own futures.

CCU students who participated were Kishona Avant, Tiana James and Ra'quan Bennett, all of Manning, and Hannah Corvin and Brianna Hicks, both of Sumter.


CHARLESTON — After weeks of rigorous training and tryouts, The Citadel Class of 2019 Summerall Guards were introduced on March 24. The 61 rising-senior cadets held their first performance after a rifle exchange ceremony with the 2018 guards.

The following area cadets were among those selected to the Class of 2019 Summerall Guards: Talmadge Johnson of Mayesville, William Watson of Sumter and Keelan Kane-Yearman of Sumter.

The Summerall Guards are a silent precision drill platoon first formed more than 85 years ago. Through a unique series of movements based on the old military close-order drills, the Summerall Guards aspire to exemplify the precise and meticulous training of a Citadel cadet. The intricate movements of the drill are taught from one class to the next and have never been formally recorded. The platoon is named for Gen. Charles P. Summerall, former chief of staff of the U.S. Army and Citadel president from 1931 until 1953.

Earning the title of Summerall Guard is one of the highest honors that can be achieved by a member of the South Carolina Corps of Cadets at The Citadel. The selection process includes weeks of Bond Volunteer Aspirant training. More than 100 junior cadets who pass an initial physical fitness test progress to six weeks of BVA training and tryout sessions. They must perform military pushups, sit-ups and rifle-bearing training, exhibiting exceptional physical condition and stamina.

Jameson Totty of Sumter received the Outstanding Freshman in Computer Science Award from the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science during The Citadel Academy of Science and Mathematics Awards Banquet on March 22.The banquet highlighted more than 50 outstanding students, alumni and faculty in science and mathematics at The Citadel. This year, the event also displayed student research for 48 projects conducted through The Citadel Undergraduate Research Experience.

More than 80 men and women from the Reserved Officer Training Corps in the South Carolina Corps of Cadets are being recognized for their academic and military leadership and excellence.

The Citadel ROTC departments provide cadets with officer training during college to allow them to begin their military careers as officers after graduation. Through the departments, which include Air Force ROTC, Army ROTC, Marines ROTC and Navy ROTC, The Citadel is one of the nation's proven producers of top military leaders. This spring, more than 100 cadets are expected to commission to all branches of the military.

Annually, the departments nominate their finest cadets and active-duty students for awards. This year's award recipients were honored on March 29 in McAlister Field House. Local cadets who received awards include:

• Katherine Walker (Navy) of Sumter received the Military Order of the World Wars Award. The Military Order of the World Wars Award is presented to one member in the second, third and fourth class from each branch of service for their diligence in demonstrating military excellence and outstanding accomplishments during the year.

• Keelan Kane-Yearman (Navy) of Sumter received the Reserve Officers Association of the United States Award. The Reserve Officers Association Award is presented to cadets who have demonstrated outstanding competence in the arts and sciences of national defense.

SAFE Federal Scholarships

SAFE Federal Credit Union named 18 Midlands high school students as recipients of its yearly college scholarships at its annual meeting March 19. The scholarships, worth $1,000 each toward tuition, were awarded to public and private school students in the areas SAFE serves, based on financial need. The students were chosen by their respective school districts.

“Education is the most valuable long-term investment that we can make as a credit union,” Darrell Merkel, CEO of SAFE Federal Credit Union, said. “We recognize that these students will be the ones who lead us tomorrow, and we are honored to help them further their education. We salute each of them.”

Area students receiving scholarships are:

• Joshua Clayton Pringle Jr., Scotts Branch High School;

• Deborah Lorraine Footman, Manning High School;

• Jailah Smith, East Clarendon High School;

• Marissa DeAnn Griffin, Sumter High School;

• Madison M. Kidd, Clarendon Hall;

• Harrison William Berry, Laurence Manning Academy;

• James Edwin Walker, Robert E. Lee Academy; and

• Dazjuan Sy'Lek Butler, Thomas Sumter Academy.